Arboretum News

Member Perspective: Beauty, Discovery & Serenity

Christine Davis shares her favorite aspects of the Arboretum.

COVID-19 Update: The Minnesota Landscape Arboretum is open in a limited capacity. As a key part of the University of Minnesota’s research and outreach missions, we have been working with University leadership on a phased approach to ensure visitor and employee safety as we welcome you back. Find updates and information here.

Even on the rainy days, Arboretum member Christine Davis finds magic at her “happy place.” Photo by Christine Davis.

By Christine Davis, Minnetonka

The weekend after sending our youngest to college, my husband and I visited the Minnesota Landscape Arboretum for the first time in September of 2017. We became members that day and have been rewarded a thousand fold.

To me the Arb is beauty, discovery and serenity. It is my Happy Place.

Each season, each visit brings a new surprise. I love studying the majestic structure of the trees in winter, watching the grounds awaken with new life in spring, absorbing the splendor of the gardens in full summer bloom and surrounding myself in a canopy of gold in fall.

Whenever the weight of the world becomes unsettling, a quick trip to the Arboretum has become my and my husband’s elixir. We have had some of our best conversations as a couple on the Three-Mile Walk.

Seeing others of all ages experience the wonder of the Arboretum brings us great joy; from the little ones with boundless curiosity to the older folks appreciating life at it’s fullest.

My husband and I have become unofficial goodwill ambassadors for the Arboretum, regularly bringing first-timers with us. He’s always dreaming up new people to invite.

For me, the Arboretum is a great resource. After a particularly arduous project, I brought my work team to the Arboretum to debrief, recharge and refocus. I’ve hosted an important client meeting at the Arboretum – what a huge improvement from a hotel or office complex conference room! I trained for the Twin Cities Marathon 10K by running back-to-back loops of the Three-mile Road. We’ve enjoyed tasty meals, bought countless birthday and holiday gifts, viewed great artwork and enjoyed the various seasonal displays. There’s just so much to do.

Christine Davis snapped this photo at the Arboretum, and it ended up being featured in her company’s sustainability report. She says it reminds her of the all the great possibilities in life. Photo by Christine Davis.

Since that first visit, I’ve snapped a zillion pictures on my phone allowing me to see the Arboretum in new ways. In retrospect, one of the most magical visits was on a cold, rainy September day. I took a picture of a dahlia that day. Little did I know, a few months later, people around the world might see it in my company’s sustainability report. That picture – a breathtakingly beautiful gift on a miserable day – reminds me of all the great possibilities in life.

I am grateful for the Arboretum, the genius of its garden designers and the dedication of its volunteers. Thank you!

SHARE YOUR PERSPECTIVE | If you have a special connection or story about the Arboretum that you’d like to share, please send it to arbpr@umn.edu. Feel free to include photos if you have them!